Amruteshwar Temple

This beautiful, serene temple is located in Ratanwadi, Maharashtra is over 1200 years old and was built in the 9th century. It is one of the 12 Shiva temples built by King Jhanjha.

The temple is carved using rocks and stones in Hemadpanthi architectural style.

I had the good fortune to visit this place and the architecture marvel surprised me. The peculiarity of this Shiva temple is that the lingam is placed inside the temple sanctum surrounded by hot spring water. It is said that during monsoons the water levels fills the entire lingam. However, this water when it flows out through a small opening is always cold irrespective of the temperature outside. One can wet their feet to experience this. The Nandi is placed outside facing the back door of the shrine.

The temple is now maintained by the Archeological Survey of India.

Though I found this temple just by chance, I was left quite speechless by its sheer aura and beauty.

Short video clip, you can see where I dip my feet in cold water
The location of the Shiva Lingam
Ceiling
Peaceful walk towards the temple
Side view
I loved the shade of this tree!
Temple entrance

Leave a comment